National Exhibition

2025 – 61st National Exhibition, Tāmaki Makaurau

Seeking expressions of interest for exhibition committee members!

 Diamond Jubilee 60th National Exhibition 2021

Premier Award winner Kate Fitzharris, A Small Plate made from Japanese Clays

Otago Art Society, Dunedin Railway Station
23 October – 20 November 2021

This special exhibition was held in Ōtepoti Dunedin to celebrate the 60th anniversary of the first exhibition of New Zealand Studio Potters, held at the Otago Museum in November 1957. The contemporary exhibition is complemented by a heritage exhibition with works from this early period and other materials showing the endeavours that led to the formation of New Zealand Society of Potters, which is now known as Ceramics Association of New Zealand (Ceramics NZ). Selected works are included in a full colour catalogue alongside each artist’s biography and statement. The exhibitions, in conjunction with other events, are organised by the team of Fusion 2010.

Click here to view the virtual tour

The Ceramics Association of New Zealand is pleased to announce that Kate Fitzharris is the winner of the Ceramics NZ 60th National Diamond Jubilee Exhibition Primo-Pro Premier Award for A Small Plate made from Japanese clays. The $1000 Imerys Excellence Award went to Renate Galetzka for her highly skilled and colourful work Beaker to Bowl. Sung Hwan Bobby Park was awarded the Driving Creek Pottery Professional Development Residency (valued at $1000) for his fantastical figurative pot, Figure 1. Teresa Peters took away the Pack and Send Merit Award for her digital archive of clay works titled Artefacts and Patrick Ferris was awarded the Nelson Pottery Supplies Emerging Artist Award for his explorations in parametric design and additive manufacture in Convergence. Special mentions were given to Gaeleen Morley for The Journey and to Karin Amdal for Vase Up Down.

Congratulations to the Ceramics NZ 60th National Exhibition finalists:

Gael Abraham, Karin Amdal, Mark Ayson, Greg Barron, Elise Bishop, Anneke Borren, Scott Brough, Annette Bull, Rachel Carter, Vicki Charles, Jacqui Clarke, Yasmin Franzmayr-Davis, Chris Dunn, Marion Familton, Patrick Ferris, Kate Fitzharris, Rebecca Flowerday, Anna Fox, Renate Galetzka, Mandy Gargiulo, Sarah Geary, Frank Graham,Tim Grocott, Yvonne Guillot, Jo Howard, Mark Hoyle, Tui Johnson, Elise Johnston (née O’Neill), Kevin Kilsby, Louis Kittleson, Nicole Kolig, Margaret MacDonald, Royce McGlashen, Kate McLean, Aimée McLeod, Holly Rose Morgan, Gaeleen Morley, Sung Hwan Bobby Park, Heather Payne, Teresa Peters, Debbie Pointon, Jennifer Queree, John Roy, Rick Rudd, Sue Rutherford, Takaaki Sakaguchi, Nachiki Schollum, Sarah Scott, Duncan Shearer, Jenny Shearer, Janet Smith, Margaret Sumich, Alex Wilkinson, Lyuba Zhilkina.

A full colour catalogue featuring all sixty selected works and essays by judge Dr. Emma Bugden and Moira White, Curator, Humanities at Otago Museum is available for purchase here.

The Diamond Jubilee was generously supported by Creative New Zealand and the NZ Lottery Grants Board. We are grateful to all our sponsors who have supported the event:

  • Primo-Pro Premier Award $3000
  • Imerys Excellence Award $1000
  • Driving Creek Pottery Residency Award $1000 (valued at)
  • Pack and Send Merit Award $750
  • Nelson Pottery Supplies Emerging Artist Award $500 worth of materials
  • CCG People’s Choice Award $250 worth of materials

The CCG People’s Choice award will be announced after the exhibition closes on November 20th.